Bubble Bubble, Toil and…Mr. Stripey!

Hydra started seriously trenching for the new garden wall yesterday.  Aw, look how fresh and energetic he was at the beginning of the day today, before the upper-nineties heat set in.

The first row of blocks is seated on leveled sand, and now he’s adding gravel for drainage.   He’s amazing at this.  Inspires me to actually do things right.  I wouldn’t have the patience to do such a great job of leveling.

I was reluctant to try breaking a block, but Hydra encouraged me.   Then I was kind of proud of it.  Strong like bull!

Finished garden!  Isn’t that wall great?  I moved the oregano and one of the thyme plants.  Added parsley, bell pepper, zucchini and butternut squash.   Oh yes, and also a rhubarb plant!   Like home!

There’s mint, two tomatoes, more zukes and squash and another rhubarb in the pots and barrel.  I went a little bonkers buying plants this year, and scrambled to find places for them all, but every one of them has a place to grow.

To see what it looked like when we started on this project in early April, click here.

Don’t be afraid.

This is supposedly going to be a lush red and green rhubarb plant later this summer.   The instructions are to plant it six inches deep with the “pointy part up.”   I’m guessing that’s the end on the right.  I put one in the ground and one in the barrel.  Hopeful!

It was kind of exciting to find that the soil in these self-watering planters I made last year was so wonderful.  Damp but not compacted.  I have high hopes for the two grape tomato plants, the watermelon, and the heirloom tomato I bought because it’s name is “Mr. Stripey.”

Here are the instructions for making these planters, thanks to Josh Mandel for creating and sharing this project!  There are links to my experience of making them in the comments section of this post, or you can use the handy search engine on the right to search the blog for “self watering.”

There are four bush  tomatoes in pots on the front porch, along with a cucumber plant and some basil.  We’re surrounded!

Okay, you’ve heard about the toil and Mr. Stripey.  Here’s the piece de la resistance!   Hydra put the long level on the wall and….drumroll please!–look at that bubble!  LEVEL!

Yay, Hydra!!  Well done!

I hope the critters don’t get to the food plants before they have a chance to produce.  This is my biggest garden ever.   All organic.

Fighting factory food  one tomato at a time!

6 thoughts on “Bubble Bubble, Toil and…Mr. Stripey!

  1. KathyR says:

    Great work! That wall looks terrific.

  2. Mark Hunter says:

    Well done, indeed! I don’t have the patience or energy for that kind of job even in cool weather!

    • Mark – I love doing projects with Hydra. Or, like this, when he’s working on something like this and I’m doing clean-up. Boy, was there a lot of clean up involved this year. We were a little lax last year and things became overgrown.

  3. Annie says:

    Isn’t any gardening the single most satisfying “work” you do? Having to wait all winter maybe makes it more so, but even if I could do it year-round, the sight of a well-tended garden (veggie, flower, or herb) is the most soul-enriching hard labor you’ll ever do. It looks great, Sally! Nothing better than kicking back in a lawn chair, wiping the sweat off your brow, and relaxing afterwards with a tall, ice-cold glass of your favorite summer beverage either. I am interested in the instructions on your self-watering planters also. Now, to wait with hopeful anticipation for the fruits of your labor is the really hard part. Enjoy.

  4. Annie! I love your passion about this! I agree… Weirdly, even weeding can do this for me. When we first bought this house, it had been empty for about 9 months and the yard hadn’t been irrigated, and it was December so everything looked pretty dead. The slope between our house and the people above us was entirely bare…it had just been cleared of brush and weeds.

    I probably spent 8 hours a couple of times a year for a long time, pulling up almost everything on that slope while we waited to see which of the plants we planted would survive the extremes of heat and cold we get at this altitude (20-120, seriously!) It was so good to get my hands in the dirt again after about 20 years of apartment living. It’s fascinating, all the different strategies plants use to survive.

    Here are links to my posts about building the self-watering planters, and there’s a link on the first one to the instructions. Thanks for reminding me to do this!

    Part I
    https://anygivensundry.wordpress.com/2009/04/25/self-watering-planters-part-i-saturday-4252009/

    Part II
    https://anygivensundry.wordpress.com/2009/04/26/self-watering-planters-ii-herb-gardening-sunday-4262009/

Leave a Reply

