An Old Friend from Far Away

I  met up with JJay at Bob’s Big Boy this afternoon.  He and I hadn’t spent any time together since the summer after I graduated from high school…that was the summer we sang in nursing homes and toured all the small town and county fairs we could get to.  Turtle Days, Old Settlers’ Days, Mermaid Days, 4-H Fairs.  As I told a friend, the tag line for the book of that summer would be as follows:

Two something-teen Hoosiers seek sophistication…Finding none, they make do with the rough and tumble world of traveling carnies and livestock breeding competitions.

This is us in 1979 when we had no idea if we’d ever survive long enough to write such a magical date as 2010 on our checks.

Like the gentleman he’s always been, he brought me a big bouquet of flowers.  We sat in the back and talked for three hours over iced tea and Cobb salads.   It was like no time had passed…except that we’re both probably more comfortable in our own skins than we used to be.

10 thoughts on “An Old Friend from Far Away

  1. jazz says:

    OMG! How is JJay? I haven’t seen him in well 28 years it was just before I got married that I ran into him. I hope all is well with him. Is he living in Cali now?

  2. Sundry says:

    Yeah, he’s out here in L.A. Has been here a while, but we didn’t manage to get together till yesterday. He’s really happy with his job and drives a great little convertible.

  3. me says:

    So neat that you two had a chance for a long talk again. Old friends are worth their weight in gold. If you see him again tell him hello from me! I’m so glad he’s doing well.

  4. Sundry says:

    Yes, I will. He spoke very highly of you. Always admired you. 😀

  5. Colleen_C_C says:

    “Classic nude.”

    Another great photo: LOVE IT!

  6. Sundry says:

    Thanks Colleen… For those of you who are looking for a nude, that’s on the L.A. Zoo post on Wednesday, June 16th. 😀

  7. Mark Hunter says:

    Well, there’s a blast from the past! What’s he up to these days?

  8. Sundry says:

    He’s living in West Hollywood, working at a big ol’ classic Hollywood hotel, doing parties and hob-nobbing with old and new Hollywood types. Drives a snazzy little convertible, too!

    • Mark Hunter says:

      Well, good for him! He sounds like he’s become Lorne from the “Angel” series, only without the green skin. Tell him I said hello — he once claimed I single-handedly drug him through to a passing grade in General Science.

  9. Gala says:

    Lovely.

Leave a Reply

