Critters Galore at the L.A. Zoo

This enclosure was one of the nicest.  There were a lot of primates interacting with each other

and with their cousins on the opposite site of the Plexiglas front walls.

Today’s post might well be subtitled  Blogger Cultural Exchange Day, as FOAGS (Friend of AnyGivenSundry) and former clever blogger KathyR took yours truly and a pair of my coworkers on a fabulous guided tour of the Los Angeles Zoo.   To clarify, she’s still clever, she just doesn’t blog any more.

We had the benefit of her knowledge of the animals, zoo history and L.A./L.A. Zoo politics while we observed the animals.  It was great!  I learned that I don’t know much about which primates are which, the difference between horns and antlers, and how long my tongue is compared to that of a giraffe.   I really don’t stack up well against a giraffe on this point.

I’d never been to the L.A. Zoo before.  It had a bad reputation when we first arrived here in 1985, and I’m a little leery of zoos anyway.  I love seeing the animals, but am always a bit conflicted about their captivity.  In this time, however, it seems important to preserve species and zoos have evolved a lot in the past few decades to become places that help stave off extinction and often have programs to reintroduce their wards to the wild.  The L.A. Zoo does commendable work with  condors, for example.

And you know, living with a not really domesticated parrot (Dodger’s parents were wild caught in Africa), I realize that as skittish as he is, we protect him from a lot of fear and want.  It’s a jungle out there, after all.

I should have taken notes.  But it’s pretty, huh?

This female rhino lost her horn due to sun cancer prevention. She’s still fabulous.

I took lots of pictures of the flamingos.  They’re just gorgeous, and they move so elegantly.

Look at those hands and feet!  Perfect!

Classic nude.

I really felt like this female (Emma?) had my number.

I really liked the zoo’s shaded and hilly walkways and the way they’ve painted the concrete back walls of the exhibits with scenic vistas of natural habitats.   Maybe more for us humans than the animals, but it’s really pleasing.

The diversity of the natural world never ceases to amaze me.  All these different strategies for reproduction and survival.  Thanks again, KathyR!

