The Apricots are Bouncing!

This batch of bounce is something of a cultural exchange between Acton and Granada Hills.   When our pal, Brit, mentioned at the last camp out that his apricot tree was getting ready to bust loose with an overwhelming crop, I jumped right on it!   He gives me homegrown apricots, in three months I give him back a batch of apricot  bounce.  Great deal for both of us!  Should be ready in time for the October camp out when a touch of warming beverage should be welcome after dark.

Click here for the basic recipe. Using quart jars makes it easiest, but you can do it in whatever size jars you have if you’re decent at cooking math.  In this case, I replaced 1/4 of the vodka with brandy.  I would have made it half and half, but I didn’t have enough brandy on hand.  Oops.  I haven’t made apricot before, but the brandy/vodka mix was phenomenal in the peach I tried last year.

4 thoughts on “The Apricots are Bouncing!

  1. Oh wow, that sounds delicious. Looks like I’ll have lots of peaches this year, so maybe I’ll try this out.

  2. Sundry says:

    Shu-Ju – Definitely use at least half brandy with the peaches. I think the vodka keeps it light, but the addition of amber brandy really was good. I only made one little batch of peach last year and I didn’t share it. (blushes)

  3. Wow, that’s impressive. They’re so lovely looking in the jars.

  4. Sundry says:

    Thanks, Los Angelista! It’s amazing how the simplest things can be beautiful…and yummy too!

Leave a Reply

