Henry’s Farmers Market

I went over to Henry’s Farmers Market in Burbank with high hopes.  I’d heard good things about it from a couple of people.  I wanted to like it, but I really wasn’t impressed.   It’s kind of a Whole Foods wanna be.  I like the bulk idea, but there are a lot more barrels of chocolate and a lot fewer barrels of grains than I’d like to see.

It bugs me that they use the term “farmers market”  in their name.  The produce is okay, but it’s no farmer’s market.   There’s a mixture of organic and non-organic produce, mostly non.

I went looking for grass fed beef and found only two cuts.  Flank steak and eye of round roast.  Maybe because it was Monday and they sold more over the weekend?  The rest of their meat is labeled “natural,” which means next to nothing and just seems deceptive to me.  The deli and bakery selections were pretty run of the mill, too.

I might stop in to get bulk bulgur or to take advantage of one of their advertised specials, but I won’t be going out of my way to shop here.  Trader Joe’s is still my favorite.  They really make an effort to stock changing variety of foods, label things well, and hire the most interesting people.  I’ll keep going to the real farmers market and Sanchez Produce on Sierra Highway.

When I saw the cashier at Henry’s put something in a produce bag into my regular canvas bag rather than the cooler bag, I politely stopped him.  He pulled out a bag of raisins and wagged them at me with a sneer on his face.  I apologized (like an idiot), saying I have a 40 mile drive.    When I got to the car I double checked and there were my snow peas in the canvas bag.   Snotty inept cashiers are not a plus.

4 thoughts on “Henry’s Farmers Market

  1. KathyR says:

    This sounds like what I thought when the Henry’s in Woodland Hills opened. I think I said in my Yelp review that it reminded me of what Whole Foods used to be like when they first bought all of the Mrs. Gooch’s stores. I’d rather go to Whole Foods or TJs. Did you know that Henry’s is owned by Smart & Final?

  2. Sundry says:

    KR- I did not know they were owned by Smart & Final. Have you been to Fresh & Easy? I was in one in Orange County around Thanksgiving last year and it seemed a little more interesting.

  3. KathyR says:

    I was curious about Fresh & Easy, so I took a trip to the nearest one in Oak Park several months ago. Very weird little store. No frills. Seemed old and a little worn even though it was brand new. I might go occasionally if it was closer, but I haven’t been back.

  4. Sundry says:

    I feel the same way about F&E. There’s one in Burbank, I guess, but I haven’t ventured over. There’s supposed to be one building in Palmdale, but given the economy who knows?

Leave a Reply

