Cameraless at the Huntington Library

Antipasta and I decided to have ourselves some adventures and artist’s dates (The Artists’ Way, anyone?) this summer.  We started today, at the Huntington Library, Art Collections and Botanical Gardens.   Wow, what a great day both inside the galleries and outside in the gardens.

Antipasta treated with her membership, which was great.  Admission is a bit steep, but The Huntington really does provide a full day of  viewing and walking and astonishingly beautiful vistas.  And admission is free the first Thursday of every month…if you can arrange to be there, it’s pretty terrific.

Really enjoyed the California Plein Air collection, and the display of the furniture designed by  Charles Rohlfs. We were also fascinated with the little glimpse we had into the life of Rohlfs and his wife, the author Anna Katherine Green.  Seems they had a very artistic life together.  Green’s credited with shaping the detective novel genre and the serial detective novel.  Wow.  I’m going to try to find some of her books!

We didn’t get far before I pulled out my Nikon and focused on a bleeding heart yucca…only to find a little flashing symbol in my way. Aaah!  I’d double checked my batteries, but not the SD card!  The digital version of being out of film.  In trying to keep updated on my blog lately, I’ve been pulling the card to upload photos.

So all day I told myself that I was experiencing the gardens without the filter of a lens and that it was good exercise to tromp around with a three pound camera all day.   But I have to say I was very jealous of this photographer and others who circled the lotuses and the dragonflies and the beautifulness.

This was taken with my cell phone camera.  Now I have a really good reason to go back.

3 thoughts on “Cameraless at the Huntington Library

  1. Gala says:

    one of my very favorite places.

  2. me says:

    I was surprised to learn you’d taken this photo with your phone! Or did I get that wrong? Beautiful shot!

  3. Sundry says:

    Yeah, on my camera phone…surprising, huh?

Leave a Reply

