I Never Met a Fruit I Couldn’t Bounce

Well, actually, I’m not making bounce out of the fresh figs I bought at Trader Joe’s this week.  And I don’t suppose apples are juicy enough to make good bounce.   The neighbor’s plum tree, which started this whole thing last year by bursting with fruit, doesn’t seem to be bearing much this year.  Sigh.  The plum and the peach were the best last year.

When BassJumper told me she’d bring me peaches from her back yard, I jumped!  We met up outside St. Joseph’s hospital, where she volunteers and near where I work and she handed me a bag of juicy freshly picked peaches.  I used half brandy/half vodka in this batch, which should be ready in October.

And then, you know, I had to take it outside to have its picture taken in the sun.  What delectable colors!

7 thoughts on “I Never Met a Fruit I Couldn’t Bounce

  1. RuthG says:

    Gorgeous!!

    And I hope to see you in a couple of weeks! 🙂

  2. Sundry says:

    Wonderful! I’m really looking forward to it!

  3. dan says:

    The bounce I made last year was too sweet for me. But when I mixed it with rhubarb juice, it made a nice mixed drink. Sweet and tart. Just right.

  4. Sundry says:

    Ooh, rhubarb juice! My mouth is watering! I found that the bounce I made with tart fruit had a lot more depth and wasn’t as cloying as, say, the bing cherry. The plum was the best. Actually, peach was second best. Maybe it’s the stone fruits. My cinnamon came out like syrup. I’ve used it to flavor things, but it’s not drinkable. Rhubarb juice… I may never recover…

  5. Hydra says:

    Ah…living with Sundry…more bounce to the ounce.

  6. Sundry says:

    Hydra – The back corner of the pantry looks like a lab!

  7. Hydra says:

    IT’S ALIVE!!!! I thought it was a raccoon living under the house, but its something that grew out of the BOUNCE EXPERIMENT!

Leave a Reply

