Huntington Gardens Con Camera

Kitty and I met up with Antipasta in South Pasadena to indulge in the Signature Package at Happy Feet Massage.  What is this, you ask?  It’s 40 minutes reflexology + 30 minutes of acupressure or neck & shoulder massage for $40.00.  Really a great deal.

I didn’t take any photos of the place.  You can see them on the Happy Feet website.   It looks more posh online than it seems in person, but it’s very clean and comfortable.

This guy has nothing to do with Happy Feet.  He lives in the Huntington Gardens.  Antipasta took us there and got us in on her membership.   Sweet!

As you may (or may not) recall, last time I was here I had my camera, but no media card.  This time I came armed and ready!

We were greeted by a small flock of parrots. Pretty nice digs for these little guys.

One of the many amazing examples of desert flora.   I really think the Huntington’s desert area is the best of the (admittedly few) desert gardens I’ve seen.   Creatively laid out and well marked.

 

I love the way the water rings move around these female mallards.  The male is on the shore of this little pond, dozing and keeping an eye on them.

I didn’t take note of the type of tree this fell from.   It was quite large and it was hard to find the blossoms amongst the leaves on the tree.  But the flowers stood out on the bed of dry leaves below the spreading branches and made us look for their origin.

Even after picking this one up and examining it closely, I thought at first that it was a faux flower that had dropped off someone’s lei or something.  Very paper-like petals.

 

Oh, okay!  Here’s what the blossoms looked like on the ground.  I dropped my model back next to the path, so someone else could make the discovery.

The end of a bench in the rose garden where we paused.  It was easy to imagine Arabella Huntington sitting here looking back toward her massive home.

 

Just another of the gorgeous old trees on the grounds.  There are a lot of benches scattered around.  Very inviting.  And you don’t have to stay off the grass!

We didn’t go into the Rose Hills Foundation Conservatory for Botanical Science on our last visit.  We only stayed in this muggy environment for a few minutes.  Whew.  They’re working on orchids, etc., in here.  It actually felt cool outside when we emerged into the 90 degree afternoon.

 

Goofing around with shadows.

Following your nose around  Huntington Gardens might inspire any of us to play a little.

4 thoughts on “Huntington Gardens Con Camera

  1. Gala says:

    i’ve been to the huntington a zillion times but you managed to make me see it afresh. nice!

  2. Sundry says:

    Thanks, Gala! I’m becoming a fan of the place. After reading “The Orchid Thief” a few years ago, I keep thinking I’ll attend the Huntington’s orchid event…if for no other reason than to watch people interact with the flowers.

  3. me says:

    Your photo of the mallards in the water is just amazing.

  4. Sundry says:

    Kitty – I love how they’re totally unaware of their impact on their surroundings!

Leave a Reply

