Green Tomato Pickles

We’ll see how these turn out!  I went online looking for a recipe for green tomato refrigerator pickles and didn’t really find anything conclusive.  Thought I heard about this on KCRW’s Good Food, but couldn’t find the story there.  Sigh.

I went to All Recipes and looked around and got some ideas and winged it.   Kind of like the recent zucchini bread experiment where I kind of used ideas from two different recipes, which turned out well.

I had such good luck with the grape tomatoes this year.  Couldn’t let these last few go.   There are also a couple of Mr. Stripey heirloom tomatoes in there.   Here’s what I did:

Washed and packed all the tomatoes + two small garlic cloves each into several jars until I found a fit in these two jars that I could actually find lids for.  (Don’t get me started on the whole frustration of not being able to find the right lids!)

Filled them with the Moscato grape vinegar I found at the Monte Carlo Deli in Burbank.  Just use something you like.

Poured the vinegar into a saucepan.  Added pickling spices, a little sugar and a little salt and heated until the sugar/salt were dissolved.

Put the empty jars in a hot tap water bath to reduce the chance of them cracking.

Poured the hot vinegar over the tomatoes.

Closed up the jars.

Placed them on the kitchen window sill for a photo shoot.  (You can skip this step, but I urge you not to.  They’re beautiful!)

Put them in the fridge.   The recipes said that the cooking time is half an hour.  Really?  I’m leaving them in for at least a week, but probably will want to eat them before a couple of weeks are up.  Hmmm… if they’re good I think I can rustle up another jar full from the plants and take them to Thanksgiving.

 

7 thoughts on “Green Tomato Pickles

  1. Jazz says:

    hey do you have any zuchini left? You can make an awesome relish with those and some green tomatoes and some other odds and ends. i love it.

  2. Sundry says:

    Hmm, no more zucchini. I used some making a fritatta for breakfast on Sunday and then sent the last few little zukes home with Dana’s cousins. Cool idea though!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    My grandmother made green tomato pie once. It was, to say the least, HORRID!
    To be nice, we at our slices but definitely did not ask for seconds! 🙂

    Elizabeth

  4. Sundry says:

    Oh my gosh, Elizabeth… was it a sugary pie or a savory one? My mouth is puckering at the thought!

  5. Elizabeth says:

    I don’t believe it was either! As savory or sugary is better than the HORRID I remember 🙂 Ah, memories! Your green tomato pickles sound MUCH more enticing:) You’ll have to let us know how they turn out! – Elizabeth

  6. RuthG says:

    These are just beautiful! You do such cool food experiments. 🙂 I look forward to hearing about the taste test.

  7. Sundry says:

    Elizabeth – It brings to mind the sugar-free gooseberry pie my dad’s second cousin Audrey made. She didn’t use any sugar substitute. I remember thinking how lucky I was to be little enough to not have to be polite and eat the whole piece. Zing!

    RuthG – I’ll be sure and let you know how they turned out. We had a little rain the past couple of days and I might have enough new green tomatoes to do another little batch.

Leave a Reply

