No Peeking!

 

That’s what it says on the sides of these big display boxes sitting at the Starbucks across the street from where I work.

Well, how enticing is that?  If I were the box-cutter carrying type, these things would not have stood a chance.

I was there because I find this thing called the Internet pretty distracting some days.  To get away from it, I took a script I needed to read and break down with me and sat in a nice leather chair sipping a salted caramel hot chocolate while I worked.

Yeah, that’s one of the reasons I’m still at this job after all these years.   Flexibility is worth an awful lot to me.

 

5 thoughts on “No Peeking!

  1. me says:

    Whoa! “No Peeking” !? That IS enticing. Keep us posted on this!

  2. I enjoy that flexibility too. It’s one of the best things about my job. I’m a morning person so I often get a couple of hours in before my kids are even out of bed. Then some time during school hours and I can take a break after school for homework and going to the park. Then tie up loose ends after they go to bed.

    Jobs are hard to come by in this economy but that won’t last forever. In the future I think more companies will need to offer this kind of flexibility if they want to attract good employees.

  3. RuthG says:

    Ha! The Starbucks manager has found a great way to lure people with curious minds!

    I love getting away from the Internet periodically. It is so helpful for both focus & rest.

  4. Sundry says:

    Kitty – I will! I expect there are cute mugs, and new coffee blends and maybe a stuffed Bearista doll in there!

    Megan – That’s good to hear. I think you’re right that more flexibility is the future of the workplace. I start working very early to take advantage of the quiet and to make calls to the east coast before their morning coffee has worn off. Sometimes I hit the road in the afternoon to beat traffic and finish up from my home office. I think most of us are very conscientious about using our time well….everything I do at the office is on work time, but at home I feel even more of an obligation to be focused on the job!

  5. Sundry says:

    RuthG – Anticipation is so good! I didn’t log on at all on Sunday. Apparently the Internet did not waste away without my attention.

Leave a Reply

