Just Busted

 

Hondista visited relatives in Alabama over the holiday weekend.   She brought back this actual publication that’s sold in convenience stores and gas stations, etc.  Yeah, it’s called  Just Busted and it is what it sounds like it is.

It features the mug shots of people who have been arrested or are on local Most Wanted lists in several counties in Alabama.

Everyone in my office was fascinated.  We passed it around and everyone found something to point out to the others.  Weens liked the mug shot of the smiling woman that was captioned “Appeared for Court.”

“What?” Weens asked, “Did she just get in the wrong line and get her mugshot taken?  Did she think it was like high school picture day?”

 

Hondista made sure we didn’t miss this correction notice.  “Oops!”   They mistakenly put the mug shot of a guy who’d been arrested for outstanding traffic tickets on the Sex Offenders page.   Yeah, I guess “oops.”

OneL noticed that a certain surname showed up very often and we researchers ended up going on line to find out a little more.  This one family seems pretty horrifying, actually.   If I am ever in Alabama and I meet someone with that family name, I am going to back out of the room.

I dunno.  I guess this is all legal, but I don’t know how advisable it is to make celebrities out of criminals at any level.  One person Hondista knows in Alabama was all bummed because his picture had been in Just Busted a few months ago but he didn’t have a copy to show her.

This is the kind of magazine title that we’d see mentioned in a television script and be astonished to find out was real.  Is it just me, or did the world just get a little weirder?

 

6 thoughts on “Just Busted

  1. ruth kozak says:

    Frankly there is way too much ‘glorification’ of criminals these days as well as even more ‘glorification’ of movie stars who are right off the rails with bad behavior, addicitions, and god knows what else. I guess it makes for good press????

  2. me says:

    I’m with you, Ruth!

  3. RuthG says:

    I had never heard of such a thing! So it’s not just you. This is very bizarre!

  4. Sundry says:

    Ruth K – No kidding. One one hand, it’s none of our business what actors get up to off stage; on the other hand it has set this example that 15 minutes of infamy is better than not getting your picture in the paper.

    RuthG – Seems bizarre to me too. One of my cousins commented on Facebook that there is something like this in the area where I grew up. Too sad.

  5. Hydra says:

    So do these people drive away from the cop shop with their car decorated with colored tissue paper flowers, towing old shoes and tin cans, with a sign on trunk “Just Busted”? I can see the police throwing rice as these people leave walking under crossed batons.

  6. Sundry says:

    LOL! Tomorrow’s headline: “Man Kills Wife with Funny Blog Comment.” I just inhaled a swig of water. Ack-ha ha-ack!

Leave a Reply

