Great Expectations

Antipasta  invited me to join her and some of her high school English students at A Noise Within‘s production of Great Expectations on Thursday evening.   I’d never been to this repertory theater–which is currently housed in an old Masonic Lodge building on Brand in Glendale–but wow am I impressed.

The staging was very inventive and exciting.  So intimate that I felt I made eye contact with Pip, who addressed the audience directly now and again, several times.   It was terrifically acted from Pip right down to the chorus of women in black (etc.).

They’re currently in the throes of fund raising for their move to a brand new theater being built in Pasadena.   The fall season is drawing to an end next weekend, but they’re doing “Noises Off” in January and the spring season looks interesting, especially given the caliber of the company.

There were added bonuses for me.  I arrived at the theater a little early and was astounded by the Christmas lights at the Americana Center across the street.  Thought I’d sit in my car until it was time to meet up with Antipasta and her sweetie when I saw some one I knew waiting for the theater doors to open.  This is kind of rare in my experience of Los Angeles.

It was the former head librarian of the Rosenfeld Management Library (where I worked during my last 5 years or so at UCLA) and his wife, who was also a university librarian.  It was great to catch up with them a little.  Both have retired and are looking well. Hydra and  I ran into them once by accident at the opening of Kenneth Brannaugh’s Hamlet.

Antipasta and her wife Artful brought their new Kindle for me to look at.  Artful gave me a tour of the basics.  I really liked it.  A lot.   The UCLA librarians told me that they like theirs too.  It’s the way of the world.   The only concern is if most publishing goes digital, how are things archived?  We went through several format changes during my time at UCLA.  They still bought a lot on microfiche because that technology is pretty basic and reproducible.   (Unlike the 8 inch floppies that were en vogue early in the digital age.)

Wonderful evening.  Classic literature brought to life in a very modern way.   My GPS to help me find my way out of Glendale and Marc Maron’s WTF podcast on my iPod to entertain me on the 50 minute drive home.

2 thoughts on “Great Expectations

  1. me says:

    Sounds like a great evening. 🙂

  2. Sundry says:

    Kitty – It was! I would love to see a show there with you next time you’re here.

Leave a Reply

