The Cul-de-Sacs of Ventura County

Tica and I hit the short and winding roads of her idyllic Camarillo neighborhood before most people had picked up their Sunday papers.

Tica was on the trail of– Well, of everything, as we walked and jogged along.

 

Crow in a horse chestnut tree.   It was very cool for Camarillo.  There was a little frost on the ground.  The clouds were starting to dissipate already.

I did not kill this dog.

 

When I got back to the house, Hydra was already singing to the bagels.

Dulce whipped us up a delicious breakfast including freshly scrambled eggs with cheese and onions.  Yum!

Lovely washbowl on the cedar chest in the living room.

Duclce let me play with her small lap-sized harp while we made music on Sunday morning.  I had fun plunking around on it, especially with her there to tune it to the key everyone else was playing in and sort of demystify it.  I am not very diligent about practicing an instrument so if something ever really works for me it will have to be gratifying pretty quickly…which this was.  I could find a couple of notes and sort of play along like a bass would, but in a high harmony, if that makes any sense.

We spent the whole morning singing and playing.  Such a great way to pass the time.  And Dulce let me take the harp home with me to play with!  Very cool!   I “noodled around with it”–as Dulce would say–at home in the evening.

We’ve been saying for years that we need to get together with BankCamp and Dulce between our Songmakers camp outs, but not quite achieving it.  This year we are attending three–count ’em, three–concerts together in January!

We’ll see who snaps first.  😉

 

2 thoughts on “The Cul-de-Sacs of Ventura County

  1. me says:

    Fun times!

  2. Sundry says:

    Kitty – You’d like John McCutcheon!

Leave a Reply

