Zenith Tibet Almond Stick – Curious? Me too!

I picked this scratch-fixer up at McCabe’s Guitar Shop. I mean, if they’re selling it at McCabe’s, where they also sell and repair beautiful wood and string instruments, it must be good stuff, right?  That’s what I’m thinking.

No matter what, I love the tin it comes in.

And look inside!  It’s wrapped in waxed paper.  Which really made me think that this stuff has probably been around for a while.  Went to Zenith’s website and, yes, it’s been manufactured since 1908.

It doesn’t really come with instructions, but after trying to rip open the packaging inside for a few minutes, it occurred to me that I might be wrong in my assumptions about how to use the product.   There’s a sort of oil inside that comes out when you rub it on a scratch.  It was great, and not nearly as scary as using those tinted wood rejuvinators that stain your hands and anything else you get it on.

 

Before                                                                                                                                      After

 

Judge for yourself!   I was really impressed.

Great.  Now the next few days will be all about finding every other piece of scratched wood in the house and applying this stuff!

p.s.  There’s a great story about the history of this product.  I didn’t know that an almond can do the same thing.  I might have to try that, too.  Link to Zenith Chemical Co’s website, with a little of the history of this family business.

 

8 thoughts on “Zenith Tibet Almond Stick – Curious? Me too!

  1. RuthG says:

    What a GREAT find! I googled & can buy it online–& the company is headquartered in the suburbs just SW of me!
    http://www.zcwinc.com/

    Wow. I can really use some of that stuff. Thanks for checking it out & sharing the info!

  2. me says:

    Hee hee…that tin looked familiar so went and looked in a cupboard full of never-used-for-ages stuff and eureka! There it is! Only problem: after probably 50 years, the lid’s stuck on!
    Oh oh…and mine says, “Guaranteed for one year!”

  3. Sundry says:

    Ruth – How neat! It makes me happy when some little thing like this has been able to survive all these years.

    Kitty – Really!? Maybe that’s why it appealed to me…might have seen it around. There’s a testimonial on the website that says it can last a long time. That is, if the tin doesn’t rust shut, I guess! Could you take a photo of yours and email it to me?

  4. Sandy says:

    When your done at your house you can come and work on all my guitars.

  5. Sundry says:

    Sandy – I’ll try to remember to bring it to BG’s song circle.

  6. craig says:

    I used it on my car’s minor surface scratches …it colorized and matched the paint color and unless you look real closely, you can’t see the scratch….don’t know yet how long it lasts being outdoors, but it’s so easy to use. I have the 1908 model….it does last for years!!

Leave a Reply

