Further Thoughts on Being a Jar Lady

 

Some women collect cats.  I have a hard time getting rid of glass jars.

I’ve read a lot of the history of early settlers in Indiana, and I keep thinking how useful they would have found the glass jars I go through in a few weeks.

I use mine to store grains and nuts.  I reuse really nice ones to give things away in.

 

 

I also reuse spice jars.   I get those inexpensive spices in the cellophane packs at the grocery and transfer them to the  jars, and tape the labels on them.  They’re a LOT cheaper and just as good.  Honestly.

A few years ago I gave up on nice pepper grinders.  They seem to stop working after being reloaded a couple of times.   So now I use those cool disposable ones from Trader Joe’s.  Which actually seem to last longer.

And this holiday season when I couldn’t find ground cloves, I bought a packet of whole cloves and ground them in an old pepper grinder.   Works pretty well.

Just be careful to mark the grinder well or, like me, you could end up with clove scented eggs some morning.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Further Thoughts on Being a Jar Lady

  1. RuthG says:

    Yay, Resourceful Lady!

  2. Sundry says:

    (back of hand to forhead) I try!

  3. me says:

    But it’s getting a little pitiful when I find it hard to toss a plastic peanut butter jar…or cardboard oatmeal box! I keep remembering how much fun my inventive kids had with those boxes…with some cutting made great little cradles for dolls, for one thing.

  4. Sundry says:

    Kitty – Luckily, Dodger loves tearing up little cardboard boxes, the oatmeal ones are a favorite. I remember Hydra going into your pantry and seeing your empty glass jars and coming out laughing! “So that’s where you got that!”

Leave a Reply

