Sundry Dinner

Went to Ben’s Corner Market in Lancaster after Zumba class on Sunday morning, and got a fresh chicken along with a lot of yummy veggies.  I haven’t roasted a chicken in ages.  Didn’t go all kooky and it turned out really well.  This is what I was doing while Hydra finished up the submarine.

Tried sunchokes for the first time.  Didn’t scrub them well enough or peel them, so they were VERY gritty and I had to skin them after cooking with the chicken.  Tasty, though, and remarkably artichoke-ish.  The root of the sunflower.  Huh!

 

6 thoughts on “Sundry Dinner

  1. Megan says:

    Looks yummy! I had no idea you could eat the roots of a sunflower. Where would you even get the roots of a sunflower?

  2. Sundry says:

    Megan – At farmer’s markets, I guess. The place I bought mine is a small indy market that has lots of local produce. Sunchokes!

  3. me says:

    Huh! Interesting about the sunchokes! The picture looks just like the sunflowers that grow along the roadsides here. Would I have the nerve to just cook & eat one of the roots? Don’t know.

  4. Sundry says:

    Kitty… I don’t know. I wonder if Pegerty has any info on these. Would sure want to know you’re getting the right root! I’ll take a shot of the sunchoke up close since I have a few that haven’t been cooked yet.

  5. Hydra says:

    This is terrible putting that roasted chicken on the same page that you put Dodger and the Yellow Submarine. It looks like we cooked him and served him for diner. Gad Zooks!

  6. Sundry says:

    Oops! Well, actually, they’re different posts…

Leave a Reply

