A Room of My Own

I don’t call my room at home an office because I don’t want it to be all about my day job, even though I work at home a couple of days a week.  I don’t call it the guest room, even though people do sleep in it when they visit.  I call it my studio.  I’m not trying to be pretentious, I’m just trying to keep myself having fun in here while I’m writing or uploading photos.

Today I just thought I’d share some of the stuff on my walls.  It’s all stuff that matters to me.

More or less clockwise from upper left, this stuff is above my computer monitor. That’s an antique map of Indiana that my writer’s group gave me for my birthday when I was working on my Hoosier-centric first novel.  The pen and ink bird art is by my brother Texaco.  There’s a piece of artwork I created from a photo and used on the front cover of a journal I gave as a gift a few years ago.  A photo of my mom in our camper with Dodger on her knee.  A calendar from a friend.   A photo of my paternal great grandparents and family.  A photo of my brother Brains and I.  A cork board with encouraging rejection notes, etc. tacked to it.

And finally, a print out of a quote Hydra turned me onto :  ‘At the moment of commitment the entire universe conspires to assist you.’ Johann Wolfgang von Goethe:

A cool photo of my friend the author, performance artist, fine artist, gentleman blogger The Last Noel.

 

Metal bug hooks that I bought while staying at Hedgebrook writers’ retreat, holding a candle snuffer and a stop watch I used to use to time scenes when I stage managed shows back in the day.

Clockwise from sort of top left (on top of a big filing cabinet): a mock up of a facade of one of the historic theaters of Fort Wayne, IN that was created by my tech theater prof, a frog tile from Whidbey Island, WA (Hedgebrook again), framed photos of  two of my nieces, an Italian glass bird Hondista brought home from said country for me, a clock, a squeaky dinosaur Hydra gave me years ago, which sat on my desk at UCLA for a long time.

There are a few other things but…I’m trying to inject a little tension into the blog.  What other secrets will be revealed?  What other stuff is on the walls?   Is the bed made?

 

3 thoughts on “A Room of My Own

  1. RuthG says:

    Love your studio–what nice, inspiring art! And you don’t mention the color of the walls, but it’s BEAUTIFUL!

  2. me says:

    Lovely…and yes, filled with tension!

  3. Sundry says:

    Ah, yes, Ruth… What I was going for on the walls was one of the colors you see between the mountains and the clouds when it’s just about to rain. It makes me so happy to be surrounded by different colors!

    Kitty…drumroll?

Leave a Reply

