CyberSundry

The splint.  The new ergonomic keyboard.

I am about ready to let them install a USB jack in the back of my skull.

But first, I’ll try acupuncture.  I have my first ever appointment this morning.  Will she let me take pictures?

The good news is that it doesn’t hurt all the time any more and I’m off the dopey-making Vicodin.  We’ll see how half a day’s work impacts the situation.

p.s. I found this lovely egg in the yard yesterday.   Hydra says it’s probably from the quail who are visiting our house every day now.

8 thoughts on “CyberSundry

  1. Elizabeth says:

    My wrists hurt for you in sympathy! Due to LOTS of piano playing I have had tendinitis in both wrists/arms at the same time – owie, owie, owie! Thankfully it was just tendinitis and not carpal tunnel. Here’s hoping that yours is not as well! Take care, and you can keep drawing your birds even when you hand is better – they’re quite nice!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Okay – my wrists are fine, and I can’t even type the simple word “your”…….oye! 🙂

  3. RuthG says:

    Hope your wrist responds well to the brace, the keyboard, acupuncture, & whatever other remedies present themselves!

    That IS a beautiful egg.

  4. Sundry says:

    Elizabeth – I am kind of wondering myself. I think it may be something less than CP. Hope so.
    RuthG – It does seem to be responding. Felt a lot better before I even went for acupuncture yesterday. Today still a little tender. The egg seems almost flecked with gold!

  5. Wazeau says:

    I wear my braces whenever I’m on the computer and they really have made a difference. I also wear Hand-eze flex-fit mits at night and they are wonderful. And once you go ergonomic keyboard you never go back!

    But like you say, I look forward to the day I can just plug my brain in!

  6. Sundry says:

    Thanks for the tips, Wazeau!

  7. Megan says:

    I don’t put much faith in acupuncture. It’s been proven no better than placebo in so many tests. But I do have some suggestions that have worked for me.

    In addition to your ergonomic keyboard (I use the same one BTW) I would also recommend getting a track ball mouse and a vertical mouse. Alternate using them so that your wrist is not in the same position all the time. Both of those styles will get your wrist into a more natural position. WowPenJoy is the vertical mouse I use and it made a big difference for me.

    I found a comfortable splint designed specifically for sleeping at CVS which keeps me from bending my at night.

    Also, I started using a large fabric covered cold compress as a wrist cushion, CVS again. With all of the above changes my pain is gone:-)

  8. Sundry says:

    Good tips, Megan. I dunno, I’ve read that acupuncture works in many cases, but they don’t know why. I’m willing to give it a go, anyway.

Leave a Reply

