New Neighbors in the Old Dark House

I bought this little metal house at an after-Halloween sale a few years ago.  Just thought it was cute.  You’re meant to put a candle inside it so the orange windows light up.  I had it in my studio, but  decided to hang it on the front porch a year or so ago.

As I passed by it yesterday, I noticed this stick poking out of one of the windows.    I had to investigate.

 

Well, what do you know!  Some one has moved in!

Some birds–and Hydra–were upset with how close I was to this, but I think it will be okay.  I’ve read that birds don’t have much of a sense of smell, so touching their stuff won’t wig them out for long.

 

10 thoughts on “New Neighbors in the Old Dark House

  1. Kate says:

    How neat! It looks good lived in like that.

  2. me says:

    Congratulations on the new neighbors! Hope they have a little family soon for you top enjoy! Darling little house!

  3. Sundry says:

    It’s sure well-ventilated! I hope they like the view. And it’s under the porch roof so probably it’ll stay dry.

  4. shuju says:

    Wow! There I put out bird houses that were meant to have birds move in, and nobody ever does. You house must’ve had that magic ‘homey’ feeling.

  5. Sundry says:

    Shuju – I guess so! We have three bird houses out there…only one is empty. I’m not sure, am I supposed to take the old nest out in the fall?

  6. Hydra says:

    I wouldn’t mess with anything our there right now. This is the house of the Bird Witch Finches and I wouldn’t want them to cast a spell on me.

  7. Sundry says:

    I will keep that in mind!

  8. shuju says:

    Yes, I’d agree w/ Hydra. No messing around.

  9. If you get too close, they’ll get mad and give you the bird.

Leave a Reply

