Living in a Time of Miracles

I ordered ink for my HP Printer online directly from HP at 10:14 a.m. on Tuesday.  A FedEx man delivered it around noon on Wednesday.  Two thousand miles in 26 hours.  That’s miraculous.  That’s 19th Century Science Fiction right there.

It was cheaper for me, personally, to have it delivered from Tennessee than it would have been to hop into my gasoline powered vehicle and make the 16 mile round-trip journey to pick up ink.  That’s because I bought enough at once to get free shipping, plus I had a $10 off coupon.

Did I save any fuel this way?  I think maybe, since even if I had bought it on one of my trips into Palmdale it would have had to have been shipped from Tennessee to the store.  Right?

Upon checking the box for manufacturing information, I see that it’s possible that this was a trip my ink would have had to made anyway.  HP headquarters is in Palo Alto, CA.  But  maybe it came in through the Port of Los Angeles and was shipped to Tennessee before coming back to me.  Where from?

According to the side of the box:  “The cartridges in this container are marked with the country of origin, and they may be the product of one of more of the following countries: China, Ireland, Singapore, Malaysia or the Czech Republic.”

Note: This is the only time these 5 countries will be mentioned in one sentence.

My cartridges are marked “Product of Malaysia.”   They have traveled so far to get to me, but they’re not done.  They’ll continue on when I recycle them.

Life’s good, but it’s not simple.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Living in a Time of Miracles

  1. RuthG says:

    Globalization–truly amazing!

  2. Sundry says:

    RuthG- Aw. I hope you weren’t expecting something deeper from me. It strikes me that you might have. 😉

  3. me says:

    Yeah it’s pretty amazing—and a little mind boggeling. I’ve always marveled that we can write a note to a friend and for just a pittance that little envelope will go to the city, the street, the house and right into the mailbox of said friend, however far away. We humans are pretty neat!

  4. Sundry says:

    Yes, Kitty, it’s amazing, isn’t it? I’m really worried that so many of these cooperative ventures are being challenged by our current Congress.

  5. Hydra says:

    Ben Franklin, the father of our postal system, would be pleased.

  6. Sundry says:

    That Ben. He really got around.

Leave a Reply

