Nostalgia Touring & Karaoke

Started off Friday in beautiful downtown Columbia City, Indiana.   Kitty and I went to the YMCA for a line dance class, then stopped by the BrewHa to see D’Beans and have a cup of specialty brew.  I liked this home made game board.

Dropped Kitty’s car off at the shop and went into Fort Wayne to run some errands.  Ended up cruising around the historic  West Central neighborhood where Hydra and I first lived together.  We had an apartment in the brick house on the right.

A lot has changed since we lived in Fort Wayne.   But not so much in West Central.   I saw a sign celebrating the 25th anniversary of the convention center.   I worked a few special events there as a server, including the grand opening dinner.   We did a parade of baked Alaskas.  When a reporter asked me how I felt about being a part of the whole celebration I said my biggest fear was tripping and putting the first stain on the carpet… But that I’d at least be able to show my grandkids that I’d make a mark on the world.   They use the quote.   🙂

The second place we lived.  We had about 1/3 of the house–including our own private entrance and a big sunporch–and the landlord had the other 2/3.   It was mostly green when we lived there.

Glad to see Henry’s is still going strong.   It used to be that you’d see a lot of people from the hospital there around lunch time, a lot of newspaper staff around the end of the work day and a lot of theater people after rehearsals and shows let out.   We were in the theater crowd.    Wonderful place to have within walking distance.  We lived about a mile from work and this place was in between.

After trying the Redwood Inn on Main Street with a hankering for their sausage roll, but finding it closed–apparently forever–we opted for Fort Wayne’s Famous Coney Island which is a place we used to stop sometimes when I was a kid.  Their tee-shirts read, “Our Buns Are Steamed – Since 1914.”  Later in my trip, I sampled the Coney dogs at The Nook in Columbia City, and I have to say I found them much more flavorful.

Later we met up with my sister, her husband, and some friends (including Lights & Action) for karaoke.  It was a lot of fun.  We sang a lot of songs between 8 and  midnight.  I bought a round of 4 beers and a large iced orange juice for $11.   Those of you who haunt L.A. bars and eateries will know what a deal that is!

Great evening.  Sang harmonies with my sister on “Going to the Chapel,” and harmonies with her husband on the Louvin Brothers’ “If I Could Ever Win Your Love,” which I’d coincidentally just sung with a Songmaker a few weeks ago for the first time.  I did “Somewhere Tonight” by Highway 101, “Teenager In Love,”  “I Will Survive,” etc.   Fun to mix it up and try things I wasn’t so sure of.  Good fun.

2 thoughts on “Nostalgia Touring & Karaoke

  1. Welcome back! Wish the weather was warmer for you.

  2. Sundry says:

    Thanks, Mark. I’ve already come and gone and am just getting my blog caught up. Hydra is relieved because I usually come back with a real estate brochure and some romantic ideas about a spring/fall house in Noble or Whitley County. There is a place for sale within walking distance of my mom’s house, but dang, it was cold and nasty this time around!

Leave a Reply

