Giant Jellybeans at the Wakarusa Dime Store

Kitty checks out the Necco Wafers, etc.

On the way back from dropping MusicMan off at his home in Elkhart, Kitty and I stopped by the Wakarusa Dime Store, where they sell all kinds of bulk saltwater taffy, chocolates, old fashioned candy bars and giant jellybeans.   We both read Candyfreak by Steve Almond last year and it’s got us thinking about some of these small manufacturer candies we hadn’t seen forever.

I bought a Chick-o-Stick!  For $1.15, I think.  I remember getting them for five cents at Goss Grocery when I was a little kid.

We tried to stop here earlier with MusicMan, but there was a festival on this street and it was raining, and we didn’t want to walk a few blocks.  Wish we’d thought of it when he was with  us on the way up to his house.  He’d like this!

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, those are sample containers.   Really good idea.  You can’t really take too many of them without getting sugared out.   The black licorice ones were amazing.  I brought home a bag of mixed fruit giant jellybeans and some maple chocolates to bring back with me.

I marked Acton on the map!

Kitty and I head back to the car…all hopped up on jellybeans!

Proof not only of the size of the jellybeans, but also that they made it back to California with me.

3 thoughts on “Giant Jellybeans at the Wakarusa Dime Store

  1. RuthG says:

    Those ARE huge! It was only with the photo of Dodger that I got an idea of the scale. Good job!

  2. Sundry says:

    About a quarter the size of my laptop. 😉

  3. Sundry says:

    What a fun day!!

Leave a Reply

