My Final Hoosier Meal & a Chance Conversation with an Author

A breakfast of leftover home made corn bread drizzled with honey and floated in warm milk.  Mmmm!   The way I really remember it is sweetened with something stronger like sorghum or molassas, but honey’s very nice.

Dropped off my sister’s car at her lovely home in Columbia City on our way to the airport in Indianapolis.  It was so great of her to let me use it.

It was a short, sweet visit.  Very family-centric.

Got into a conversation with the woman in the seat next to me on the flight from Indy to Phoenix.  We were talking about my Kindle and the publishing world and when I asked her what she does, she said, “I’m an author!”   She said she was in about the same state of frustration as I am when she started working on her third MG (Middle Grade…the tween market?) novel, the one that’s coming out in September.  “This is it!  You’re going to do it!” she said.

When we were about to land I said, “Isn’t it wonderful to get to say you’re an author when someone asks what you do?”

“You were my first!” she said.  “The book comes out in five months.  I think it’s time.”

The conversation was a wonderful end to my trip.  I’m looking forward to reading Tess Hilmo’s book With a Name Like Love when it comes out this fall!

6 thoughts on “My Final Hoosier Meal & a Chance Conversation with an Author

  1. It looks like an interesting story she’s written!

  2. Kris says:

    How exciting for you!

  3. Sundry says:

    Mark – It does look interesting, doesn’t it? I was able to hold a reasonable conversation about MG books, to my surprise. I’ve read a few that really stuck with me, like “Tuck Everlasting,” and “Out of the Dust,” etc.

    Kris – It was a nice little boost.

  4. I think it’s always interesting to talk to other writers, even when their genres don’t match what we write or read. Maybe it’s just because I spent so much time feeling lonely from no contact with other writers!

  5. RuthG says:

    What a cool encounter! & what an encouraging word for you. Yay!

  6. Sundry says:

    What a neat thing to happen! Her book sounds really interesting. Think I’ll try to get it, even if I am a bit beyond the target age!

Leave a Reply

