Writing in Cemeteries

Don’t believe it when you hear that dead men tell no tales.

You just have to listen harder.

Contemplating the labyrinth.

Both Antipasta and I thought we could have done it better.    Which is totally not the point.   I think I looked away and missed a turn, and although she’d started several paces behind me, we ended up face to face.

You can see the tops of some of the buildings in downtown L.A. in the distance.  We’re at Forest Lawn in Glendale.

Close up of the statue nearest us.  A copy of something from the 1600s.   Kind of brilliant against the perfect blue sky.

6 thoughts on “Writing in Cemeteries

  1. ruth kozak says:

    I love visiting cemetaries –especially the old kind where there are statues and mausoleums etc

  2. Sundry says:

    Me, too, Ruth. This one has all flat panel grave markers, which are not nearly as interesting as monuments. I’ve visited graveyards on my travels and have never regretted it. Pere le Chais in Paris was great!

  3. me says:

    It would be interesting to try the labyrinth sometime! I like little old country cemeteries where, sadly, often you see a ring of baby markers around their parents. Life was so hard back when!

  4. Sundry says:

    We can definitely do this next time you’re here, Kitty! I think it’s even on that list of Hidden L.A. places that we marked up.

  5. Hydra says:

    Didn’t you call me on your cell phone from the cemetary saying, you were lost and coudln’t get out because one of the roads you went down lead to a dead end?

  6. Sundry says:

    Hydra – Yes! My GPS kept taking me down roads that had been shut off. Ghost in the machine?

Leave a Reply

