All Hail the Farro

Kitty and I bought some farro at the 3 Rivers Co-Op , meaning to try it while I was there earlier this month.  She packed up half of it for me to bring home.   I guess it’s a type of whole grain wheat.   I don’t think I’d ever tried it before.  It has a nice flavor and isn’t as chewy when cooked as the hard red wheat that’s easier to come by.

I cooked it in my steamer.  I love whole grains, and having the steamer has made it easier to incorporate them into my diet regularly.  They never burn or get dried up!

I had some of it with just a little grated Parmesan cheese for breakfast, and then made a salad with things I had in the fridge and pantry.

Farro Salad

3/4 cup cooked farro (which is what I had, but a cup would be nice too)

1 can garbanzo beans (14 oz.)

1 cup chopped fresh tomatoes

1/2 cup chopped chives or green onions (or to taste)

2 Tbs lemon juice (or to taste)

1-2 Tbs good olive oil

Several shakes of powdered garlic (to taste)

Freshly ground black pepper (to taste)

Toss it all together.  Serve it with some greens and use the farro/garbanzo salad as a dressing.  I had some arugula on hand, and that was a nice spicy accompaniment.

The leftovers tasted good the next day too!

One thought on “All Hail the Farro

  1. me says:

    Yum! All your healthy food looks so delectable
    …and tastes that way too!

Leave a Reply

