Building a Better Bowl of Noodles

Welcome to my lunch!

I have fallen in love with buckwheat soba noodles.   I can find Hakubaku brand organic at a couple the big chain grocery stores for around $3.50 a package, sometimes less on sale.  There are about 5 two-ounce servings in a package, so that’s a pretty cheap base for a meal.  They’re supposed to be pretty healthy…low glycemic index, some fiber, low in sodium.

Better yet, they taste good, cook up in about 4-7 minutes, depending on how tender you like them, and they’re delicious hot or cold.  I often make a double batch and save the second serving for the next day’s lunch.

You can add any kind of veggies, but I like to mix fresh greens in with them for sure.  Usually spinach.  Today I steamed fresh mushrooms, sugar snap peas and turnip greens in the microwave while I cooked the noodles and then tossed some of Trader Joe’s half-salt cashews on top.

The Mod Squad of my Asian pantry.

When Kitty visited last October, I casually picked up a bottle of Twin Dragons Ginger Oil at a big Asian grocery we visited in San Gabriel.  Just sounded interesting.  Wow, is it good!  I can whip up a great bok choy soup and add a little of that oil at the end and it’s amazing.  But I ran out a few weeks ago, and the stuff isn’t the easiest thing to come by.  I’ll get back to San Gabriel again before long, but in the meantime I’ve been looking for it whenever I’m anywhere remotely likely.

Last weekend I paid a visit to The Whole Wheatery in Lancaster.   Spent a lot of time looking around and found some new things to try.  Among them was The Ginger People ginger juice!    It doesn’t quite carry through a recipe in the same way that ginger oil does, but it’s really good.  I’m going to find a lot of ways to use it, I expect.

I dressed my hot noodles with ginger juice, Bragg’s Amino Acids  (a lower sodium soy sauce replacement) and a little traditional toasted sesame oil.

Lots of flavor going on in this bowl, let me tell you!

4 thoughts on “Building a Better Bowl of Noodles

  1. me says:

    Oh does that look tasty! If you find the ginger juice again get a bottle for me and I’ll bring it home this fall, ok?

  2. Sundry says:

    Kitty, I will! Also will get some ginger oil when I’m in the right neighborhood again. I had dinner outside tonight, and was thinking of you. You’d have liked the quail, doves, raven and bunny wandering around the edges of the yard.

  3. Kathy Rogers says:

    That looks really good. Right now. At 8:10 a.m.

  4. Sundry says:

    I sampled some cold before I heated them up for lunch and I would also do these as a cold dish. Or for breakfast!

Leave a Reply

