Everybody Knows My Name

Hydra and I were working on fixing the irrigation system in the garden area that I’ve been digging up for the past week or so, this little cutie wandered into our back yard.   Little dogs like this Yorkie are also known as coyote chow around here, so we rounded her up, calling out, “Come on, sweetie.  Come on.”

She allowed me to pick her up, take her inside and feed her some warmed up chopped chicken from the freezer.   Learned from LW last weekend that chicken is a healthy food for doggies.

She didn’t have a collar or any tags, so I took this photo and posted it near the mailbox and at the clubhouse.   We had to get ready and go to Santa Monica (more on that later!) so we put her in the guest bathroom.  Which is to say as far from Dodger as possible, since we don’t need him barking at us like a kidnapped Yorkie.

We were just a few miles down the 14 when the owners called to tell us we had their dog, Sweetie.  Ah, so that’s why she got comfortable with us so quickly.  We clearly knew her name.

We turned around, not wanting her to spend a frustrated day in our bathroom.   Her owners were in the process of moving when Sweetie took off.  They’d been looking for her for a couple of hours.    She started scrambling in my arms as soon as she heard her human’s voice. I put her down about 30 feet from her human and she built up so much speed that she ran past her human and had to make a big loop back. There was a second when I was afraid she was going to bullet right down the road.

But no, Sweetie was ready to go home.

5 thoughts on “Everybody Knows My Name

  1. Hydra says:

    And I thought Helen of Troy had the face that launched a thousand ships!

  2. ruth kozak says:

    How sweet! She reminds me of my dear little Yorkie Fiona. I used to breed and show Yorkies. Wish I still had one!

  3. bookishdesi says:

    Love this!

  4. me says:

    Neat tale! I love stories with a happy ending!

  5. Sundry says:

    Ruth, if they’re all anything like Sweetie, they seem to have a very good disposition… and cute? Well, they’ve cornered the market on that!

    Hydra – She’d be something to fight for, huh?

Leave a Reply

