From the Market to the Table

Never saw these on sale before.  Garlic scapes?  They’re the shoots that come out of the garlic when you’ve let it sit around too long.  And then you throw them away, right?

Wrong!  You could be selling them for $12.00 a pound!

I didn’t realize exactly what they were when I bought $3.00 worth, but I’m glad I gave them a try.   I used them like scallions.


My farmer’s market steamed dinner.   When we visited LD, who is laid up with a broken leg, we picked up a few things for her at the market first.   Fixed her a steamed lunch of red potatoes and asparagus while we were there.  Looked so good I made  something like it for myself.  Yukon Gold potatoes go in the steamer first, for about 5 minutes, then add the asparagus and an Asian green whose name I don’t remember for an additional 4 minutes.  Topped with garlic scapes (scallions or chives are also good), and drizzled with high quality olive oil, pepper and just a tiny bit of salt.   Mmmm.

Market flowers some one brought to LD, on her table.  Floral sunshine.

3 thoughts on “From the Market to the Table

  1. Gala says:

    YUM. That sounds/looks so tasty and yet so simple. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Sundry says:

    It’s an interesting food transition time, from roasted winter veggies to the whole mass of delicious stuff available in the summer.

  3. me says:

    Ohmygosh! That meal looks sooo delicious!

Leave a Reply

