That Scraping Sound You Hear….

is coming from our house.  We’ve been prepping for painting for days now, and an awful lot of the house looks like this.  So much more of the paint was bubbled than we realized.  Ugh!

Today the house is all scraped, sanded and washed.  Hydra recaulked some of the windows and seams yesterday, and I’m going to to another check and hit the exposed parts with Kilz and then we’re ready to paint.

I’m not wild about the sample color we put on the wall yesterday.  It’s called Periwinkle Bud, and I love it on the card, but on the house it has a kind of fluorescent feel.  I’m going to pick up a couple more today and try them on the walls.   The color is the fun part and I want to really like it.  Hydra just kind of wants it done at this point.  😉

6 thoughts on “That Scraping Sound You Hear….

  1. Hydra says:

    It was too much work being home and scraping the house and other stuff to get the house ready for painting. So, I unretired myself today and went back to my old job just to get some rest from retirement.

  2. Sundry says:

    I’ve been doing laundry, updating my blog, watching documentaries on The Sundance Channel and feeling guilty that I’m not out there slapping on the Kilz. Getting out of the chair now.

  3. annie says:

    The remodeling at our house has been taken a little lomger than anticipated. As a matter of fact- by the time I start feeling good about getting 1 or 2 rooms completely finished (completely being the operative word- it includes trim and all the other little details that are the most bothersome but still make a world of difference)- it’s time to update another room again. So many important interferences– mushroom hunting, going out to eat, visiting the kids and helping them with some task they are working on, etc… ! Then there’s the whole settling on a color– actually with me it’s more of settling on a shade. I tend to gravitiate towards browns and greens and whatever goes with them. Sigh– maybe it will take so long, that we’ll get too old to do it ourselves and the kids will step in and finally finish for us.

  4. Sundry says:

    Annie – It’s amazing, isn’t it? We painted the interior of the house when we first moved in (Mom did a lot of it!) and then were content to work on the yard, etc. for a long time. I agree, the shade’s important. I like blues and purples a lot. My studio/guestroom is purple and our bedroom is blue and white. Then again, kitchen and guest bathroom are green, and master bath is peach (I want warm and bright in the morning!) I love color!

  5. me says:

    Oh! It’s making me tired just thinking about it! Hope you’re all done by next time I get there! 🙂

  6. Sundry says:

    Kitty, I’m not making any promises. Nothing was done over the holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

