The Sweet Potato Experiment

A couple of weeks ago I discovered that a sweet potato in my pantry had gone rogue and sent out sprouts.  Rather than toss it, I put it in an old olive jar in the window.   It rewarded me with some lovely leaves!

From what I read online, I could either use this as a lovely vining house plant or put it in the ground and see if I can get more sweet potatoes out of it.  It also says that potatoes need lots of water.  I’m not sure it’s fair to the potato to put it outside knowing that we’re heading into the hottest part of our year.

The leaves are really beautiful!

And oops, there’s a piece of paper on the floor.  For shame!!

2 thoughts on “The Sweet Potato Experiment

  1. me says:

    Growing a sweet potato vine was a fun thing to do when the kids were small…they were so easily entertained, the sweeties! hmmmm…and you still enjoy growing things, don’t you! tee hee 🙂

  2. Sundry says:

    LOL… Yeah, I’m having a mid-life regression!

Leave a Reply

