Idaho Belles

Sometimes I pick up random photos at antique shops or yard sales.   I’ve always been drawn to old snapshots, but couldn’t really justify buying old albums.   There was one in a shop in Kernville years ago that I still wish I had made an offer on.  The price was a bit high but I would feel better if I had at least asked.  You could tell that the photographer was experimenting with composition and lighting.

A wonderful fellow from Texas has been posting (on Facebook) some photos from albums he has rescued.   There are some lively conversations going on there with people speculating about the mostly unmarked shots.  I thought I’d put some of my found photos up.  I especially like ones of women.

Pretty neat to have writing on the back!  Sometimes I buy old postcards more for the writing on the back than the postcards themselves.

In case you’re having a hard time with the writing, the back of this photo reads: “3/7/26  Harrison, Idaho.  Two girls who sometimes wait on me at meal time.  From left to right: Eva Foster-junior in high school, Jean Wygant, who graduated last year and works for Mrs. Kraggs steadily.  They are pretty good kids.  I have some fun with them anyway.”

I don’t think I would have guessed they were quite so young.  That’s a fashionable haircut on Miss Wygant.

For some reason the comments make me think that they worked at a boarding house,  but the signs in the background are for Firestone Tires and Conoco Gasoline.  And it feels like a young woman writing the message…a slightly older peer?

The town of Harrison is on Lake Coeur d’Alene so it might have been a vacation spot then.

7 thoughts on “Idaho Belles

  1. me says:

    Wouldn’t it be great if a descendant of one of these girls saw and recognized this? Love it!

  2. Sundry says:

    Yes! I did a tiny bit of searching online, but no go.

  3. sumisu39 says:

    Amazing to see a photo of my mother at that time. I have others but not this one. Both she and Wygant worked, I believe, at the Rambler’s inn. (long gone from the scene – The empty building stood until probably the 50’s.

  4. Sundry says:

    Oh, how wonderful to hear from you! Did you find this through a Google search?

  5. sumisu39 says:

    No, A nephew ran across it and sent it to a cousin and thence to me. I wonder if there are any more out there. The family came to Harrison in 1922. and my parents lived there part time until about 1997.

  6. Sundry says:

    Seems to have been written by someone who knew your mother and her friend. I pick up old photos from time to time. If you’d like to email me privately with your address–there’s a link on my blog to email me–I’d be happy to make a copy for myself and send you the original. Only seems right you should have it!

  7. ? says:

    Talk about serendipity! This is so cool!

Leave a Reply

