Ghee Whiz!

“Step away from the ghee.”

AKA, “If it is on my counter, it must be mine.”

A friend recently gave me this big jar of ghee.  There are not a lot of guys who can safely ask me if I like to experiment with butter without consequences!

I had no idea what to do with it.  When I’d heard of ghee, which is used as a flavor base in Indian cooking, I thought it meant butter with spices in it.

But it’s basically clarified butter.  And it’s supposed to be superior for sauteing, etc.  From what I read online, they claim it doesn’t have the health issues that regular butter does.

I used some last night to cook corn, zucchini, onion together.  So yummy.  Didn’t taste as oily as this looks, and the slight caramelizing on the veggies was yummy.

2 thoughts on “Ghee Whiz!

  1. me says:

    Ghee…isn’t summertime great? All those yummy foods…and so many ways to fix ’em!

  2. Sundry says:

    Kitty – Yes! Tonight I made another sort of stir fry like this, with mushrooms, green beans and tomatoes added. Also, another sweet potato pie with more spices this time.

Leave a Reply

