How Does Your Garden Grow?

The first round of Japanese eggplants all fell off the plant shortly after beginning to form.  Maybe it was too sunny for them?  They’re almost completely overshadowed by the zucchini leaves now, and are giving it another go!   This looks promising.  Do you have to stake eggplants?  The plant looks very weak.

We’ve been dining on fresh tomatoes and cucumbers for more than a week.  And the zucchini just keeps on coming.  Next year, just one zucchini plant, I swear!   They do so well here that it’s hard to say no when more than one comes up.  Now my little plot is really crowded.

Peering through the wildlife netting at the best crop of  Thompson grapes we’ve ever had.  They’re tiny, like champagne grapes, but they’re getting nice and sweet.  We’ve have this vine for more than 5 years, and have done lots of things wrong with it.   This year there are at least a dozen bunches of grapes on it!

If we do eventually put a pergola along the back of the house, this vine is in the right place to train up over it.  The light under grape leaves is so amazing.

Now that’s what I’m talking about!   Fresh grapes for our sweetie-pie.   We’ve banned non-organic grapes from the house, which is kind of hard when they are not available.  Grapes are supposed to be big carriers of pesticides and that little body doesn’t need any toxins in it!

We are getting so much good out of the patches of garden we have.   I’m thrilled every time I pick from it!

How is your garden growing?  If you send me a photo to post, I will.  Maybe we can have a virtual group garden!

4 thoughts on “How Does Your Garden Grow?

  1. RuthG says:

    Yum! Gardening is so good, in every way.

  2. me says:

    It all looks so healthy! The grapes are amazing, and I remember how sweet they are. And the zucs…wish I’d planted one! Love the long slender shape of your eggplant…mine are the fat kind. I worried about the weight of the biggest one too, and finally rested it on a little slab of limestone for support.

  3. Karen says:

    Your garden is doing great. I usually stake my eggplant or put a small tomato cage around them for support. Your grapes look wonderful. Love that they are small which usually means sweeter.

  4. Sundry says:

    RuthG – So true!
    Kitty – I have 2 zukes…not next year. One’s enough. It’s just hard to get rid of them when they come up!
    Karen – Sounds like a good idea. Staking is supposed to help the central stalk grow better, I think, too. The grapes are yummy! Hope this is the new norm!

Leave a Reply

