Thanksgiving, When Apps Means Appetizers

Parmesan encrusted green olives.

As Burt Bacharach said, “A synonym is a word you use when you can’t spell the word you first thought of.”

Yep, that’s the reason I bring appetizers rather than hors d’oevers.

I’ve been grabbing a cook book just about every time I go to our local public library, just to see if I can get any new ideas.  Sometimes they’re just too complicated, but I like looking at the pictures.  I’ll admit that I brought home Martha Stewart’s Cooking School: Lessons & Recipes for the Home Cook  to get me through carving a 21-pound turkey.   I literally checked the directions several times, and I liked the results.

The truly fun find, though, was Hors d’Oevres by Victoria Blashford-Snell and Eric Treuille.  Wonderful appetizer ideas, like the Parmesan encrusted green olives pictured above.  Wow.  Surprisingly tasty, though some non-olive lovers in the crowd wondered aloud what else the crust could be used to cover.

There were a lot of ideas like mini crescent rolls stuffed with ham & mustard, and things made in won-ton cups that could be easily altered to showcase your favorite ingredients.   The recipes aren’t needlessly fussy, and the ones I tried were easy to follow.

Kitty and I had fun putting these together!

Leave a Reply

