Stand and Deliver

It must have seemed like a miracle when these things first hit the home market in the ’50s, because it felt like a miracle in my kitchen today.

Okay, I admit it! It took me almost a year to get up the courage to try out the beautiful vintage 70s stand mixer that Kernel so graciously gave me.  (Thank you!  Thank you!) When I confessed this to another friend who is a terrific cook, she told me she’d had one for almost ten years that she’d never tried, so I felt a little better.

I guess most of us don’t do that much baking.  And the manual is lost in the mists of time. And when it comes time to make holiday cookies is it worth hauling this beast out?  It’s heavy!

Well, I’m here to tel you it is worth getting out.   I was astonished at how quick and easy it was to whip up a batch of roll-style sugar cookies.  At one point I could smell the engine oil a bit, so I stopped it and took it’s temperature with my hand and it felt fine so I continued.  After a lot of years of dormancy, it had a right to creak a little, but it didn’t.

I went online looking for a manual and didn’t find it, but I did find a nice little video that showed me how to put the bowl on the stand and turn it on, which was all I really needed.  There are lots of videos on YouTube showing how they work and even advising about repairs!

I don’t know if I would ask for a new one for Christmas unless you’re planning to do a lot of baking.  But if f someone offers one to you and you have the room anywhere in your house for it, take it!   You may not get a second chance like I did. I was on Facebook bemoaning  the fact that I’d let one slip through my fingers when Braveheart upgraded to a newer one and Kernel offered me hers.  Yes!  She even brought it down from Kernville to Canyon Country where I picked it up at her daughter’s house.

I count myself very lucky to have such generous friends.

Leave a Reply

