Mini Muffin Tins to the Rescue!

Today I tried a recipe for mini Parmesan shortbreads.  I was supposed to be able to roll out the dough and cut it with cookie cutters.  I was hoping I could use my little star shaped cutters, but would have been happy using my new scalloped round cookie cutters.

It was just not happening.  I added more butter to no avail.  I made one batch in the food processor and one using my trusty old hand pastry blender.  Neither formed a dough.  Faced with tossing 1 1/2 cups of cheese along with other ingredients, I cast about for a better idea.

So I pressed the “dough” into the bottom of my mini-muffin tin and baked them up.  It worked!

I added a half teaspoon of garlic and a teaspoon of dried oregano to the original recipe for a little extra flavor and color.  You’re supposed to top these with something… Not sure whether I will or  not.  They are very rich and yummy on their own.

Here’s the recipe, in case you want to try it and tell me what I did wrong!  From the wonderful hors d’oevres by Eric Treuille & Victoria Blashford-Snell, which I have had out from the library for weeks and hope (hint hint!) to receive for Christmas.

Tiny Parmesan ShortBreads

Makes 40.

1/2 cup all purpose flour, sifted

salt, cayenne pepper

3 Tbsp cold butter, diced

3/4 cup Parmesan cheese, grated

Essential equipment: 1 1/2 inch fluted pastry cutter, parchment paper [not so essential in my opinion]

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Place flour, a pinch each salt and cayenne , butter, Parmesan, and any additional flavoring, if using (garlic!) in a food processor.  Pulse to create a smooth dough.  Roll out on a floured surface  to a 1/4 inch thickness.  Stamp out  40 rounds with the pastry cutter.  Place dough rounds on parchment paper lined baking sheets 3/4 inch apart and refrigerate for 30 minutes.  Bake until golden brown, about 8 minutes.  Cool completely on a wire rack before topping.

Can be made up to 2 weeks in advance and crisped in a 400 degree oven for 3 minutes.

Leave a Reply

