Book Review: Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King

Please Ignore Vera DietzPlease Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Loved it, loved it. A fun, compelling read.

It got me started thinking about the Young Adult category and how I feel a little funny about picking up a YA novel.

But books like this remind me that if there had been a YA category in the mid-20th Century we might have missed classics like “To Kill a Mockingbird,” “Catcher in the Rye,” “A Separate Peace,” and “A Member of the Wedding,” just because their protagonists are kids.

It can be a powerful and moving perspective in the right hands.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Due to teaching young adults, YA books are pretty much all I read anymore! It keeps me up to date as to what the kids are interested in and what they are being exposed to. Plus, although they’ll never admit it, they enjoy discussing their newest favorite book.

    So where are your pictures of your new crochet/knit projects?? I thought for sure I’d see something after you commented on my blog 🙂 I must be honest, my projects have not progressed at all. Sad, but true! At least they’ll still be there when I’m ready to pick them up again.

    Take Care – Elizabeth

  2. ? says:

    Thanks so much, Sally, for your comments on YA books. It’s so true…I picked one up in Oaxaca, Mexico a couple of weeks ago…The Balloons of Oaxaca. It was really good and taught me so much about those people who are selling things all over the city. Made me see them in a different light.

  3. Sundry says:

    Elizabeth – Yeah, I haven’t made good on that comment. The closest I’ve come is paging through a book called Knit Your Own Dog at Barnes & Noble the other day!

    Kitty – I hope I can read that book some time!

Leave a Reply

