My New Old Descoware

I almost left this 1 quart Descoware sauce pan at the Salvation Army store on Sierra Highway because it was pretty shabby looking.  Stained inside and out.  I hadn’t heard of Descoware before, but it looked like good stuff…enameled cast iron, which I’ve been curious about.

The price of new Le Creuset and the like has kept me from jumping in. A 1-quart French oven is selling on Amazon for $94.00 right now.  I decided that it was worth a $7.50 gamble to see if I could clean this one up to the point I’d be happy using it.

Wow, I wish I’d taken a before photo.  I used a Scotch Brite pad and some baking soda and this baby is shining now.

Apparently, Julia Child used this stuff on her television show in the sixties.  I found a website for Fans of Descoware–gotta love the Internet!–that says that it’s valued by people who use it, but hasn’t become expensive in a collectible sense.  I think that the lid and pan are probably from different sets, but I don’t mind.  It’s like a sunny day in the California poppy fields near our home on the edge of  the Antelope Valley, CA.

I had a fennel bulb in the fridge, so I decided to try braising it in a little chicken broth, white wine and garlic.  Finished with a little sprinkling of Parmesan cheese that I browned under the broiler at the last minute.

It was the first time I’d braised anything, and it was yummy.  I ate it right out of the pot while watching a behind the scenes look at Downton Abbey.  The only problem was that it stayed so hot it was hard to wait until it wouldn’t burn my mouth!

It cleaned right up again after cooking.  Fun Monday find!

 

10 thoughts on “My New Old Descoware

  1. Candy Eve says:

    Even a shabby looking DESCOWARE pot or pan cooks like a new one! The enamel may have gotten banged off in places, though mine look pretty good in that way, but with a little shortening and reseasoning of those bare areas on the pots, they are functionally good as new! ENJOY!!!

  2. Sundry says:

    Oh, that’s very good to know Candy Eve. This one is in really terrific shape…it just hadn’t been thoroughly cleaned. I am having a hard time putting it away, it’s so pretty.

    I did notice that it took on a lot of little lines from my using metal utensils in it, and those were harder to clean off. Do you use utensils intended for nonstick pans with Descoware?

  3. Terina says:

    I only use wooden and bamboo utensils in mine. Or occasionally the porcelain ladle that goes to my soup tureen. It is not advisable to use metal utensils with enameled cookware. Enjoy enjoying your find!

  4. ? says:

    What a pretty little pot. Bet you’ll use that a lot!

  5. Sundry says:

    And it looks so smart just sitting there! 😀

  6. Mark says:

    The lid is Descoware. The pot does not look like Descoware to me but occasionally I’m wrong in these matters. Is the pot stamped Descoware on bottom or any identifying impressions . . curious, let me know.

  7. Sundry says:

    Yes, the pot says Descoware on the bottom, which is how I knew what it was. Otherwise, I’d have been clueless! The bottom isn’t enameled.

  8. […] her the fifteen. Completely worth it to me.  I have been wanting more Descoware since I bought the first and only other piece I own from a Salvation Army […]

  9. kitty says:

    Very cool stuff!!

Leave a Reply

