Let’s Get This Party Started!

Finally got around to putting the veggie seeds into the starter tray this morning.  I guess people have varying results with these Jiffy starters.  I’m hopeful.

he

Messy chart I drew up to keep track of what’s in which little starter plug.  I am pretty confident that at some point I’ll be able to tell a tomato from a squash, but I have no idea what the horse mint sprouts will look like, or the Mexican papaya.  All are seeds from my brother, John, except the ones from my cousin Debbie (three kinds of heirloom tomatoes!!  Amish Paste, Chadwick Cherry and Crimson Cushion.)  There are also three types of bell pepper: green, red and black.  I’ve had no success with peppers, but am hoping the planters I bought will help.

The Earthbox planters arrived yesterday!   Looking forward to getting them started.  They had a great deal that included growing medium, so I’ll have two with that and two with my own planting mix.

Let’s see if I can get through the day without redrawing the chart more neatly.  Because that would be a little obsessive, right?

T

4 thoughts on “Let’s Get This Party Started!

  1. RuthG says:

    It’s a very hopeful tray & chart. May they all thrive!

  2. ? says:

    Well, the chart is a good idea…it certainly looks hopeful! I have got to get some of those little pots for my seeds! I put a cover on my raised garden…it’s supposed to frost tonight and I have peas up! whoo hoo!

  3. Sundry says:

    This whole tray with 72 little pots was only $6.97 at Lowe’s. I have heard that sprouting in a sprouting mix in Dixi cups or even in those clamshells that you sometimes get fruit/veggies in works well, too. Good for you for protecting your sprouts!

Leave a Reply

