Bean by Bean

Bean by Bean is actually the title of a cookbook by Crescent Dragonwagon that I picked up at the local branch of the Los Angeles County Public Library.   It inspired me to get some pinto beans and epazote  from the bulk area at a Vallarta Supermarket  and extract the slow cooker from the back of the cupboard.

Epazote is a kind of stinky little herb from southern Mexico, Central and South America that’s supposed to help with the gassiness of beans.  I bundled it with fresh thyme and added an onion and some frozen fennel scraps.

Every spring I move all these rocks and put them back after removing dead stuff.

In the meantime,  I worked compost into the garden and reworked the front rock garden, putting in five new plants from about 1:30-5:30.   Oh yeah, in the middle there I discovered that the Evil Ground Squirrels excavated so much dirt from under the deck last year that the bottom of the chain link fence between our house and our neighbor’s was all bulged out and needed to be attended to before I could set up those Earthboxes I’ve been so excited about for so long.

Hyrda helped me think about a fix for this and went in to Palmdale to pick up wood for the solution.

By the time he got back, I had hit my gardening limit, and  needed a  hot shower.   The house smelled deliciously of fresh beans.  I had a bowl of them  mixed with salsa and steamed kale.  Wonderful!

p.s.  I work in the entertainment industry and we just entered our hiatus period, which means I’ll be working 3 days a week rather than 5.  Always a little stressful, but I am determined to keep myself busy with projects so I don’t freak out.

2 thoughts on “Bean by Bean

  1. ? says:

    I’m confident you’ll be able to come up with plenty of projects! Always into something interesting!

Leave a Reply

