Pegerty’s Porch

It would make a good restaurant name, huh? I stayed over Thursday night and wandered around taking pictures while she picked fresh lambs quarters from the yard to add to our breakfast.  This is the view from my sister’s sun room in Columbia City, Indiana.  Wonderful place to watch the world go by.

Lamb’s quarters show off drops of much needed rain.

More of this is edible than you might imagine.  My sis is very knowledgeable about wild edibles and uses them a lot.  Her hubby told me how her lettuce was missing from her workplace’s fridge one day, so she went out and picked herself a fresh wild salad to replace it!

On the back deck.

Always something growing on the kitchen windowsill.

And breakfast is served in the dining room.  Egg whites and lamb’s quarters, freshly picked cherry tomatoes, flaxseeds with BBQ spices, and chai.  She’s a good cook!

5 thoughts on “Pegerty’s Porch

  1. RuthG says:

    Very cool! I used to eat a lot of lamb’s quarters, back in the day (when I was a young mom & we had access to more green spaces).

    • Sundry says:

      I recently saw an article in the LA Times saying that lamb’s quarters grow wild out here too. I hope I can find them!

  2. How delicious it all is — the delectable food, and the sisterly love, too!

    • Sundry says:

      My sister got me started writing when I was a little kid. She’d play teacher and give me assignments like 1) make a list of synonyms or antonyms 2) write a story using four of them. 😀

  3. no says:

    Pegerty will love these pictures! Glad you’re so observant>

Leave a Reply

