Chardonnay Gardening

I suppose if I were truly living off of the land, I would roast this root and weave these leaves into something useful.  As it is, I think of them as invasive evil weeds and throw them away.

I have repurposed a Chardonnay bottle as a water carafe for the past few months. I sometimes take it outside with me on a day like today when the temperature rose from 85 to 95 degrees during the hour I weeded and worked in the garden.  I suppose the neighbors think I’m having way more fun than I actually am when they see me chugging directly from the bottle.

When I was in Indiana I saw that my sister-in-law GardenMaster is training her cucumbers to vine up onto supports.  Hers are sturdier and nicer than mine, but I hope to find some deals on them at the end of the season.  Meanwhile I’m using old tomato cages and a trellis that used to support a scented geranium that recently came to an end.  I have room for more growth in my little patch this way!

First stage of the cucumber harvest.  I swear I picked this many two days ago.  Hence my attempt to eat cucumbers at least twice a day.  A cucumber and almond butter sandwich is actually pretty good.

There are two Sugar Baby watermelons on this vine.  When I’ve gotten one this size in the past it has been chomped by some critter. This time it’s behind chicken wire and I’m going to also cover it with netting.

I’m so glad I heard this story on NPR’s Morning Edition about heirloom tomatoes’ flavor being due in part to the same genes that make them a little green around the top even when they’re ripe. Apparently, selecting for even color has also meant breeding out flavor.  If I hadn’t heard it, I might not have known that these yummy Paul Robeson tomatoes were ready to pick.  They’re a little acidy, but delicious!

A nice haul of the Paul Robesons and Juliet grape tomatoes, along with tender Japanese shishedo peppers.   I probably should get a little basket for these harvests.  As it is I just use the front of my shirt.

Beautiful fennel blossom.  Apparently this stuff grows wild in Los Angeles County, but I bought my start from Sego Nursery.  She said I’d know when the bulbs are ready to harvest as they’ll start to emerge from the soil.

Yummy Thompson grapes still warm from the sun.  Plenty more where those came from, on the bush behind the bunch.  Dodger loves that we leave these on a bowl on the kitchen counter. He gets to forage for food without getting his tooties dirty.

Oh, and kudos to my peeps in the Midwest.  The temperature rose from 85 to 95 during the hour I was outside (between 9:30-10:30 am) and the humidity was high for here, but probably dry for Indiana at 23%.   I was dripping by the time I cam inside with my bounty.

4 thoughts on “Chardonnay Gardening

  1. Karen says:

    It looks like you have a thriving garden. I have used tomato cages to support cucumbers before and it worked well for me.

  2. no says:

    What a beautiful garden! It all looks so good! And how good for you!
    Bravo!

  3. Sundry says:

    Sure wish you were here to share it with us!

Leave a Reply

