Road Trip!

It’s worth clicking on this one to see it full size.  The light was perfect.

Hydra and I set off on our big driving adventure in the Southwest around 4:30 in the morning.  This photo was taken at a rest stop in Arizona.  I found out later that these flowers are called Pride of Barbosa.  What prompted me to take a picture of them was not only that they were so striking in the beautiful overcast light, but also that I saw several other travelers stop to enjoy them.  They were drawn to them like children, smiling.  Whomever planted them made a wonderful choice.

Can you see the screaming man lying on his back?  Hydra and I used to make the drive between Los Angeles and Sun City, AZ several times a year to visit his mother.  I don’t know if anyone else sees this guy.

I always thought of him as a westward traveler who lost his wife and children to the desert, crawled endlessly toward mirages of water, and finally lay down and screamed until he couldn’t breath any more.

It was strangely comforting to see him there again.  Thanks to Hydra for taking the photo while I drove.

Famous hotel in Gila Bend, Arizona.  We took the new bypass around Phoenix, which wasn’t really finished, now, was it?  We might have been more in the mood to stop and take some proper pictures of your town if you had marked the detour properly, Gila Bend.  We were not amused at driving 10 miles west on the frontage road in order to enter the freeway.

Friendly  public art on the overpasses in Arizona.

Sunset in Las Cruces, NM, where we stopped for the night.

We are on our way to a gathering of Hydra’s Army unit in San Antonio, with bracketing visits to my brother Bauer (renamed just now…it means farmer in German) and sister-in-law Tejas (it means friendly!) about an hour from San Antonoi, and an eventual stop in Santa Fe.

Funny thing is, our SoCal friends Buckaroo and Bonzai who are also headed to the gathering independently made reservations in the same hotel in Las Cruces, which we found out shortly before we left.  When we checked in, they were walking back from dinner!  But wait till tomorrow…it gets better.

9 thoughts on “Road Trip!

  1. no says:

    OH goody…we get to go on a trip with you!

  2. Brian Witmer says:

    who is hydra?

    ________________________________

    • Sundry says:

      Who’s the most logical person for me to take a road trip with to see his old Army buddies, hmm? Emailed you privately. 😀

    • Hydra says:

      Who is Hydra? I’m hurt that you would ask such a question. I used to be feared. People would run from me in the streets shouting my name. … and then I met Godzilla. After Godzilla kicked my butt, people laughed at me and never mentioned my name again. I couldn’t even get a cup of coffee at Starbucks without people pushing past me in line to order their caramel macchiatos. I don’t even rate a “Where is he now?” on the E Channel. I sure miss the good old days when Tokyo shook with fear. Now I’ll just slink back to my living room chair and watch another episode of “Sponge Bob Square Pants” and remember how good life used to be. Oh where, oh where has Hydra gone? Oh where oh where can he be? Sigh!

  3. markrhunter says:

    Your friends are Buckaroo and Banzai, huh? Wonder what movie *that* came from ….

    I’m insanely jealous. Due to medical problems we weren’t able to travel out of state at all this summer.

  4. Sundry says:

    He’s Buckaroo because he dresses in historic cowboy and military garb. She’s Bonzai because of the movie and also because she’s trim. 😀

    Yeah, not getting to travel sucks. Next year!

Leave a Reply

