Salmon Patty Cake

P1010130

One of my Hoosier friends mentioned salmon patties on Facebook the other day and it just kept nagging at me, so tonight I called Kitty and asked how to make them, and viola!  salmon patties with broccoli for dinner.

The recipe?  Too simple.

1 15 oz.-ish can salmon

2 eggs or egg substitutes

4-6 saltine or stone ground wheat crackers

vegetable oil

Lay the crackers on waxed paper and crush them with a rolling pin.  Mix them into the salmon, including the liquid from the can and the eggs until you can form patties.

Get enough oil to cover the bottom of a skillet about 1/8-1/4 inch deep nice and hot and drop patties in 4 at a time.  Sautee until toasty brown, about 5 minutes, then flip and treat the other side the same way.  That’s it!

I had the feeling that we’d added something like Worchestershire sauce or lemon juice to the mix, and these are pretty mild, but tasty in their own homey way.  I might add some green onions next time.  As it is, I ate them with lemon juice and/or soy sauce on the side.

The recipe made 8 patties.

6 thoughts on “Salmon Patty Cake

  1. wynnruth4 says:

    That’s a yummy one. I have one where you add some lite cream cheese too.

  2. kitty says:

    Think I’ll have to whip up some myself! 🙂

  3. Sundry says:

    It took me a few days, but I worked my way through the whole batch!

  4. deb says:

    Toss some rosemary in the next time. Really good.

Leave a Reply

