Embellishing the Past

DSC_0087

I wanted  to use this cool vintage cowboy-themed fabric from a cotton flannel shirt that LDub gave me in some sort of project. The shirt is really voluminous–apparently designed for a hip troll–and would take a lot of tailoring to be wearable.

We revamped our Secret Santa gift exchange at work a few years ago, and it’s been really nice.  We lowered the limit from $25 each to $10 each and banned gift cards. It had gotten to the point where we were all just trading gift cards!  Now we send out a note with hints about what we would like to receive.  It’s a lot more fun to shop this way, and people have been getting quite creative.

Weens said she’d like a potholder.  I considered making one from scratch for about a millisecond, but realized that I couldn’t make one with a nice safe rubberized pad like the one that’s on the other side of these.  So I took a bit of fabric with me down to Ye Olde Target store and bought two of these ready made potholders. Because I am well aware of my capacity to mess things up beyond repair and I didn’t want to have to run back into Palmdale to get another one after I cut through something important.

All went well, though.  The fabric I embellished the potholder with was SO cooperative.  Responded very well to ironing, which was a real relief.  This sample is from the sleeve, so I have quite a bit more to work with, tra la!

As luck would have it, Weens and I drew each other for the exchange!  I added some hot chocolate and some firewood to her package and stayed under the limit since we grew and cut the firewood ourselves.  I said surprises and handmade stuff are always welcome and she did a great job of putting together a package of appropriate things: pen, notebook, and an amazing home made Christmas ball.  Which oh so tragically fell to the floor with a sickening splat about 15 minutes after I hung it on our tree.  I feel really rotten about that, because it was gorgeous and her own unique idea. 😦

Anyway, that’s one of the things I’m up to.  I’m looking forward to finding more ways to use the rest of the fabric!

P1010172

p.s. This is the sweet tea cup I did not bring home with me from The T Room in Montrose.  The white and wisteria one on the left.  Quite delicate and unusual.  For sale, but no price on it.  I refrained from asking.  Sigh.

4 thoughts on “Embellishing the Past

  1. kitty says:

    I love to see what you’re up to! Having fun…way to go!

  2. Sundry says:

    Yeah, trying to see ways to repurpose things I like. 🙂

  3. RuthG says:

    Brilliant idea, & beautifully done!

Leave a Reply

