Buy A Book in 2012– It’s Not Too Late!

DSC_0116

There’s still time to buy a book for yourself or someone you love, like or admire.  Even if that someone is yourself, books are the greatest gifts.  In my family, Christmas wouldn’t really be complete without a book under the tree.  It’s not only the thing itself, it’s also the promise of spending some of the winter holidays wrapped up in a story.

And I’m asking you, yes, to buy a book from a bookstore.  A new book.  And pay full price for it.  Just one, okay?  The rest you can find deals on, I promise.

Some of the most avid readers I know pride themselves on buying only used books and then passing them around endlessly.  I’m right with you. I shop the library book store, the bargain shelves, deals on Amazon, etc.  But I do try to buy at least a few full price books every year.

Because if I don’t, who will?  The answer to that question is, the people who define what will be published next year.  If everyone buys The Help, whatever you think of that, publishers will look for something else along those same lines.

Stumped for a gift?  Don’t know what they’d like?  I always like it when someone gives me a book that they really enjoyed in the past year. It’s a good way to find things I wouldn’t usually find.

What books did you buy this year?

How’d I put my money where my mouth is this year?  I bought the following books at full price. Rather more nonfiction than in years previous because I was feeling a little burned by fiction.  I was actually surprised in going back over my Good Reads list to find so many I paid full price for.

Frozen by Carla Tomaso

Jack 1939  by Francine Matthews

We Were Stardust by Kathrin King Segal,

Naked, Drunk and Writing by Adair Lara

The First Twenty Minutes by Gretchen Reynolds

The Memoir Project:  A Thoroughly Non-Standardized Text for Writing & Life by Marian Roach

The 90-Day Novel by Alan Watt

The 90-Day Rewrite both by Alan Watt.

2 thoughts on “Buy A Book in 2012– It’s Not Too Late!

  1. kitty says:

    I’m inspired!

  2. carlatomaso says:

    Thanks Sal. You’re a keeper. Carla

Leave a Reply

