Sundry’s Lab

DSC_0208

My current ferments, left to right: baby carrots, green cabbage, parsnips and red cabbage.

So far, the carrots are my favorite.  I’ve made three batches of those!

DSC_0191

Red cabbage before going into the jar.  Just because it’s pretty.

I don’t think I’ve ever bought red cabbage before, due to a humiliating dining experience when on a trip to Fort Wayne with the prom committee in high school. But Kitwocky recommended it, so when I saw a nice looking head I picked it up.

 

DSC_0198

Brilliant red cabbage kraut and fermented carrots.  The red cabbage was great at first, but I think I used too much salt and now that it’s progressing, it’s a bit much for munching straight.  Maybe the remainder will work in salads.

One thought on “Sundry’s Lab

  1. kitwocky says:

    Hurrah! Love your lab. And I must recommend a dining experience (you’ll see why in a second): A-Frame in Culver City. They have a home-made pickle platter that blew my mind. They had a few you’d expect (carrots, sweet pickles, fennel, radish), but then there was a shocker: Asian pear. The sweet crisp of the pear with the tart acidity of their pickling recipe – oh my. I honestly had chills. And my mouth is currently watering. Amazing.

    Here’s a link:

    http://aframela.com/new/

    enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

