Mad About Maduros

DSC_0370

This was my first time making my own maduros, Cuban-style fried plantains.  Simple and delicious.  I saw them in the store the other day and decided the time was right.

As usual, when I’m trying something new, I go online and/or to my bookshelf and browse several different recipes.  I often come up with something that blends them or just uses them as a starting point because a) of my own tastes and b) I don’t usually run out to buy that one exotic ingredient that’s missing from my pantry.  There’s something in there to substitute, I just know it.

I learned from AZ Central’s Cooking 101 that if I were handling more than one plantain I’d want to wear gloves to avoid black hands and that I like the maduro style rather than chips.  I took my cooking time from Three Guys from Miami, though mine were done a little sooner than theirs.

So the recipe, my style.

Melt enough coconut oil in an iron skillet to cover the bottom about 1/8 – 1/4 inch.

Slice the plantain, which you have let ripen to the point that its skin is all black, on a diagonal.

Fry at medium high heat for 8-10 minutes or until they look deeply brown.  Mine were almost blackened in some places and were delicious.  Soft inside, some crispiness here and there, caramelized. Wow.

Thanks to KennedySweets for convincing me to try coconut oil.

DSC_0375

Breakfast: fresh maduros and nonfat yogurt with flax, slivered almonds and vanilla stevia.

When I’ve had maduros at Mambo’s in Glendale, CA I always thought they added some honey or something.  NO!  They are sweet and carmelized by the cooking, with a hint of tang in the background.

The coconut oil worked well. Given its costliness, I’m putting the leftover oil in a jar in the fridge to use again next time.  I’ll use maybe half of it to saute onions and garlic for the black eyed peas that have been soaking overnight. I think it should add a nice little hint of flavor.

I’ve only used the coconut oil once before, to brown chicken and onions for a barley stew I’ve been eating all week. Mmmm.

5 thoughts on “Mad About Maduros

  1. RuthG says:

    In Colombia “maduros” simply refers to ripe plantains that have had time to sweeten. Looks like you prepared them just right! I also love green plantains (platano verde) sliced & fried & salted.

  2. Sundry says:

    Ooh, green plantains! My mouth is watering. I wonder if the same is true of “maduros” in Cuban cuisine. I’ve also had them chip-style at a great Cuban bakery in the LA area. Has your family discovered any good Colombian food in LA?

  3. Sounds absolutely delicious. I have fallen in love with the delicate taste of coconut oil, bet it complements plantains perfectly!

  4. Sundry says:

    It does, kennedysweets! It smells so good.Might use it on my dry hands, too. 😉

  5. RuthG says:

    There used to be a really great Colombian restaurant in Silverlake; that one appears to be gone, but there are several others in the Silverlake area, as you’ll see if you google “colombian restaurant los angeles.” But this one looks to be highly recommended (ignore its classification as a MEXICAN restaurant!): https://plus.google.com/105856351086051463702/about?gl=US&hl=en-US

Leave a Reply

