Kraut of My Mind!

P1010808

Today we were finally ready to cook up the sauerkraut I started back on January 13.  It was in the pantry from then till February 7, when I put it in the fridge before going to Mexico for a week.  It seemed pretty much ready to eat, and I thought I’d slow down the fermenting process a bit.

When we came home from Mexico, we–mostly me–had bad colds, and we forgot to pick up any bratwursts while Kitty was here.  Too bad.

I scooped a little bit of mold off the top of the kraut when I opened it.  Browned the bratwursts, added the kraut, a little fennel seed and about 1/3 of a can of beer to the pan. I hadn’t put any spices into the jar, just the cabbage and salt water.  Simmered for about 20 minutes.

P1010811

It’s SO DELICIOUS that I could seriously have just taken this whole pan straight to the table and hoarded it all for myself.

Tender but crunchy.  Mildly tangy, almost nutty. Like no other saeurkraut I’ve ever tasted.

Why didn’t I start a second batch a month ago?  (The red cabbage kraut is long gone, eaten like a salad.)  You can check out the origins of my new fermenting fetish here or have a look at Sandor Katz’s  Wild Fermentation website. I’m so hooked on fermenting!

4 thoughts on “Kraut of My Mind!

    • Sundry says:

      It’s so good! I used pork brats this time because it was all that was on hand, but the chicken or turkey brats I’ve had were as good.

  1. RuthG says:

    Oh, I love brats with sauerkraut! Great job!

    • Sundry says:

      A couple of people have told me they’ve never had brats and kraut. I guess it might be a little regional. There were lots of things I didn’t experience till I was a teen or later. I remember my first avocado, artichoke, fresh apricot, chili fries (and I thought California was a healthy place!), poutin…and the list goes on!

Leave a Reply

