We All Scream for Snow Cream

DSC_0084

Woke up this morning to 3 inches of lovely snow on the ground. An old friend posted about his first experience of snow cream on Facebook last week, but I didn’t think we’d have a chance to have it this year in Southern California.  There’s no real recipe.  You make it to taste.

Chill the bowl in the snow for a minute.

DSC_0101

Fill it with snow! You can use a spoon or your hand.  Choose really clean snow, okay?

DSC_0111

Drizzle sweetened condensed milk over it, to taste.  It’s okay to keep the tin or bottle nearby to add more as needed.  It’s best when it starts to melt.

I had mine with coffee.  Mmmm!

We used to make it when I was a kid.  Sometimes we used maple syrup in honor of Laura Ingalls Wilder and the sugar bush.

I don’t know the last time I had sweetened condensed milk in the house, but they started carrying it at Trader Joe’s around Christmas and I picked it up thinking I’d use it.  Now I have to figure out what to do with the rest, because the snow won’t last long, even up here at 3100 feet.

DSC_0057

Hydra shoveled the back yard so the birds could find the seed he tossed for them.  Also, shown here, the driveway.  Just because!

DSC_0091

I took pictures and made a snowman!

DSC_0114

Oregon junco in the apricot tree.  They are so shy!

DSC_0171

Later that same day, when the sun came out, so did we.

3 thoughts on “We All Scream for Snow Cream

  1. seabluelee says:

    Was it only 3 inches? And almost gone already. Don’t tell my friends back in Maine! I’ve never made snow cream, though I well remember the maple syrup snow in Little House In the Big Woods. Maybe next year.

  2. Sundry says:

    If you have some sweetened condensed milk on hand, it’s worth it. Yeah, my friends in Indiana (where I grew up) had a foot of snow this past week. I love how it melts at our house and sticks to the mountains across the valley.

  3. […] went looking online for a way to use up the sweetened condensed milk that I opened to make snow cream, and discovered  an ingeniously evil recipe called Clean Your Pantry Cookie Bars.  Warning: I […]

Leave a Reply

